College of Pharmacy Founding Faculty member announced as the Director of Assessment for Larkin University College of Pharmacy (LU-COP)

Mostafa Elgebaly, RPh/PhD
Director of Assessment & Assistant Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences

Mostafa M. Elgebaly, RPh/PhD, Assistant Professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, and one of the first faculty members recruited to LU-COP in February 2016 has been named the Director of Assessment for the College of Pharmacy. “I love teaching and making sure my students achieve high standards of knowledge. I think this is where assessment fits in to make sure our students get the best out of their education”, Dr. Elgebaly said.

Dr. Elgebaly’s appointment follows the announcement of the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) site visit to the college in April for the determination of Candidate status. In his new position, Dr. Elgebaly will be assisting Dr. Benavides and the Executive Council of the College of Pharmacy with assessment related tasks. “I am looking forward to working with Dr. Elgebaly with assessment related activities in his new role. I admire his enthusiasm and collegiality. Together, our goal is to become leaders in the academy” said Dr. Sandra Benavides, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Assessment in announcing Dr. Elgebaly’s appointment.

A native of Egypt, Dr. Elgebaly is an expert in cardiovascular complications of diabetes mellitus in stroke patients. He is a licensed pharmacist who attended Cairo University, where he received his pharmacy degree. He then completed a Doctor of Philosophy degree in Clinical and Experimental Therapeutics from University of Georgia (UGA) in Athens, Georgia. He completed a Novartis Pharmaceuticals funded post-doctoral fellowship in Drug Development at the State University of New York-University at Buffalo. During his fellowship, he led two phase-I multi-center clinical trials in the translational medicine department in cardiovascular diseases biomarkers. Dr. Elgebaly has been an Assistant Professor of Pharmacology since 2012, and prior to joining LU-COP he was a faculty member at South University College of Pharmacy. He is actively involved in service to the college and currently serves as the Chair of the following committees: Student Progression and Professionalism Committee, Curriculum Evaluation and Assessment Committee, and Pharmaceutical Sciences Faculty Search Committee. He is also an active member of the Faculty Affairs Committee and the Admissions Committee. In the profession of pharmacy, he is active in the American Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists and the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.

Dr. Elgebaly is well regarded for his teaching and assessment skills, having earned the Bowl of Hygiea Teacher of the Year Award in 2015 from South University School of Pharmacy and the Mortar and Pestle as a student advocate in 2014. Dr. Elgebaly’s teaching philosophy resonates with the college’s core values of being a learner-centered institution.

Comments are closed.