Research Areas and Researchers 

It is our vision to develop Larkin University into a diverse academic community that is relevant to the community we serve. LU faculty are engaged in basic, clinical, social & administrative sciences, and educational research focused on development of new therapeutic chemical entities, optimization of the available medications, development of treatment protocols, clinical decision-making approaches, clinical communications, quantitative/qualitative health and cost-related data evaluation, and scholarship of teaching and learning. Scholarship of Teaching endeavors to understand the curriculum, programmatic, and professional outcomes with a goal of implementing and improving new pedagogical and learning approaches. Laboratory, in silico, and in vitro research are focused on biomedical and pharmaceutical areas which attempt to advance human health with a strong emphasis on diseases or research areas relevant for our local communities in South Florida or the US in general. 

LU research provides foundational knowledge for disease pathogenesis and medication action, analyzes the breakdown of medications, vitamins or natural products in tissues or measure their levels in biological samples and endeavors to understand the effects of environmental pollutants and allergens on health through biochemical analysis, and focuses on synthesizing new chemical molecules or developing medication formulations and then determine their effects on non-pathogenic bacteria or mammalian cell culture. Scientific discoveries resulting from LU Faculty research contributes to the advancement of human health and educates our students in research techniques and scientific analyses, reflecting the deliberate involvement of faculty and students working together in fields of research.

Researchers: Biomedical and Pharmaceutical Sciences 

LU researchers are engaged in computational and laboratory work in diverse areas of biomedical and pharmaceutical sciences including computational structural biochemistry, drug design and synthesis, formulations, drug metabolism and pharmacokinetics, and pharmacological evaluation of synthetic molecules and natural products. 

Subrata Deb

B.Pharm., M.Pharm., Ph.D.
Chair & Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Contact Information
Office: 2517
Phone: 305-760-7479
Email: SDeb@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Debasish Basak

B.Pharm., M.Pharm., Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Contact Information
Office: 2308
Phone: 305-760-7485
Email: DBasak@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Christiane Chbib

Pharm.D., CPh., Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Contact Information
Office: 2502
Phone: 305-760-478
Email: CChbib@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

John Fetse

B.Pharm., M.Phil., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Contact Information
Office: 2303
Phone: 305-760-7471
Email: JFetse@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Sukhwinder Lakhman

B.S., M.S., M.Phil., Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Contact Information
Office: 2305
Phone: 305-760-7493
Email: SLakhman@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Sandeep Sheth

B.Pharm., M.S., Ph.D.
Vice Chair & Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Contact Information
Office: 2511
Phone: 305-760-7483
Email: SSheth@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Sameer Joshi

B.Pharm., M.S., MRes, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Contact Information
Office: 2510
Phone: 305-760-7497
Email: SJoshi@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Emmanuel O. Olawode

B.Pharm., MSc.Pharm., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Contact Information
Office: 2508
Phone: 305-760-7463
Email: EOlawode@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Rudi H. Ettrich

RNDr. MSc. PhD.
President/ Chief Executive Officer
Contact Information
Office: room 2100
Phone: 305-760-7504
Email: REttrich@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Jenna Bloemer

Pharm.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Contact Information
Office: 2505
Phone: 305-760-7519
Email: JBloemer@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Thomas A. Edwards

Ph.D.
Professor
Contact Information
Office: room 2304
Phone: 305-760-7516
Email: TEdwards@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Ling Wang

MD, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Contact Information
Office:
Phone:
Email:
Hours: By Appointment

Clinical Research

Ruth E. Nemire

PharmD, EdD, FCCP, FNAP, CRQM
Dean / Professor College of Pharmacy
Contact Information
Office: 2211
Phone: 305-760-7502
Email: RNemire@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Andrea Murzello

PharmD
Assistant Dean for Practice and Professional Affairs
Contact Information
Office: 2207
Phone: 305-760-7460
Email: AMurzello@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Sultan Ahmed

MD
Professor
Contact Information
Office: room 2301
Phone:
Email: SAhmed@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Idelxy Perez,

MD
Assistant Professor
Contact Information
Office: room 2307
Phone: 305.760.7482
Email: IPerez@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Kristal Potter

Pharm.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Clinical and Administrative Sciences
Contact Information
Office: 2504
Phone: 305-760-7486
Email: KPotter@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Ross Wagner

Pharm.D., BCPS
Assistant Professor, Department of Clinical and Administrative Sciences
Contact Information
Office: 2509
Phone: 305-760-7495
Email: JWagner@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Dean L. Arneson

Pharm.D., M.S., Ph.D.
Professor and Senior Director Faculty Development, Department of Clinical and Administrative Sciences
Contact Information
Office: 2506
Phone: 305-760-7518
Email: DArneson@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Ling Wang

MD, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Contact Information
Office:
Phone:
Email:
Hours: By Appointment

Social and Administrative Sciences Research

Jayesh Parmar

PhD
Associate Dean & Associate Professor
Contact Information
Office: 2208
Phone: 305-760-7481
Email: JParmar@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Priscilla Ryder

M.P.H., Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Clinical and Administrative Sciences
Contact Information
Office: 2302
Phone: 305-760-7492
Email: PRyder@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

Ruth E. Nemire

PharmD, EdD, FCCP, FNAP, CRQM
Dean / Professor College of Pharmacy
Contact Information
Office: 2211
Phone: 305-760-7502
Email: RNemire@larkin.edu
Hours: By Appointment

Marti Echols

MEd. PhD.
Dean Emeritus, College of Biomedical Sciences
Contact Information
Office:
Phone:
Email:
Hours: By Appointment